Honoring eight senior distinguished plant biologists from India

Rajagopal Subramanyam, Suleyman I. Allakhverdiev, Govindjee

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

1 Citation (Scopus)


We summarize here research contributions of eight stalwarts in photosynthesis research from India. These distinguished scientists (Shree Kumar Apte, Basanti Biswal, Udaya C. Biswal, Agepati S. Raghavendra, Attipalli Ramachandra Reddy, Prafullachandra Vishnu (Raj) Sane, Baishnab Charan Tripathy, and Dinesh C. Uprety) were honored on November 2, 2017, at the School of Life Sciences, University of Hyderabad. We include here two group photographs of this special event, which was organized by the Department of Plant Sciences, during the 8th International Conference on Photosynthesis and Hydrogen Energy Research for Sustainability—2017 (https://prs.science/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Photosynthesis-Research-for-Sustainability-2017.pdf, also available at: http://www.life.illinois.edu/govindjee/world-historical.html). The main conference had honored three international scientists: William Cramer (Purdue University. West Lafayette, Indiana, USA), Govindjee (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA, one of the authors here); and Agepati S. Raghavendra (University of Hyderabad, India, one of those honored here as well); see papers in this Special Issue, edited by Suleyman Allakhverdiev, one of the authors here.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)45-52
Number of pages8
JournalPhotosynthesis research
Issue number1-3
Publication statusPublished - Mar 1 2019


  • Agepati S. Raghavendra
  • Attipalli Ramachandra Reddy
  • Baishnab C Tripathy
  • Basanti Biswal
  • Dinesh C. Uprety
  • Prafullachandra V. (Raj) Sane
  • Shree Kumar Apte
  • Udaya C. Biswal

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Biochemistry
  • Plant Science
  • Cell Biology


Dive into the research topics of 'Honoring eight senior distinguished plant biologists from India'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this